Picture
It's nice to have those pantry ingredients when you get a sweet tooth and decide to make a cake.  I made this Sprite Pound cake with mostly pantry ingredients.  This is the third recipe I like to make that uses soda as an ingredient.  I will post the other two recipes later.  I took lots of pictures this time and will post them with steps.  This is not a diet friendly recipe, but I have found that you can use diet soda and Splenda to make a sugar free version.  Click on the link below to print out the recipe.  I also sliced some strawberries and coated them with sugar.  Let the strawberries sit while the cakes cook and they will make their own juice.

Using an electric hand mixer or a stand mixer, cream the butter and shortening.  (I did not intend for the butter to melt.  I softened it up in the microwave.)
The creamed butter and shortening should be light and smooth
Add the sugar one cup at a time and beat on slow speed to combine.
Scrape down the bowl and make sure all ingredients are combined.
Add the eggs one at a time, beating after each one.
Add the vanilla and combine.
Add the flour one cup at a time alternating with Sprite.  Beginning and ending with flour.
Scrape down the bowl one last time to make sure everything is incorporated.
Prepare the pans by spraying with non-stick spray and then coating with flour.
Divide batter into 3 loaf pans, 1 - 10 oz tube pan or 2 - 8 oz tube pans.  I tried it with two loaf pans this time and one of them overflowed in my oven.
Let cool in the pan on a cooling rack for a little bit and then turn out of the pan to cool completely.
I basically made mine a Strawberry Shortcake with sliced strawberries.  Slice the strawberries and add a little sugar.  While they sit they will make their own juice.



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Kim.  I love to cook and would love to share tips, ideas and recipes with you.  I am a busy mom of four. Three boys and a girl who keep my husband and I on our toes. 

    Archives

    January 2014

    Categories

    All